Justice for Khojaly

Justice for Khojaly

February 26, 2019 is a Commemoration Day of the 27th anniversary of Khojaly tragedy. The tragedy took place on Feb. 26, 1992 and became one of the worst in modern European history. The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

During the Karabakh war, on Feb. 25-26, 1992, the Armenian armed forces, together with the 366th infantry regiment of Soviet troops, stationed in Khankendi, committed an act of genocide against the population of the Azerbaijani town of Khojaly. As many as 613 people, including 63 children, 106 women and 70 old people were killed in the massacre. Eight families were totally exterminated, 130 children lost one parent and 25 children lost both. Some 1,275 innocent residents were taken hostage, while the fate of 150 people still remains unknown.

The Human Rights Watch attested to the scale of Khojaly, calling it the “largest massacre in the conflict”, and placed full responsibility on Armenian forces. The 1994 UN Security Council ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. While most hostilities have ceased, Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.

For the past 27 years, Azerbaijan has strived for the Khojaly tragedy to be recognized by the international community. The world has responded. Countries from Mexico to Pakistan and from Peru to Bosnia-Herzegovina, as well as over twenty states in the United States of America, have recognized and honored the victims of the Khojaly tragedy  including:

Arizona (Senate, House)

Arkansas (House)

Connecticut (House)

Georgia (House, Governor)

Hawaii (Governor)

Idaho (Governor)

Indiana (Senate, Governor)

Maine (House)

Massachusetts (House)

Minnesota (House)

Mississippi (House)

Montana (Governor)

Nebraska (Governor)

Nevada (Governor)

New Jersey (Governor)

New Mexico (House, Governor)

Oklahoma (Senate)

Pennsylvania (House)

Tennessee (House)

Texas (House)

Utah (Governor)

West Virginia (House)


As people of conscience who seek reconciliation and world peace, we join in recognizing and honoring these victims, their families and we pray for a speedy resolution to this conflict that is a stain on the hearts, minds and land of the people.